pattern review · sewing

{ DECADES OF STYLE } An unlikely paring…

Hi dears,

This garment was worth coming out of blog hibernation for. Honestly. It took me totally by surprise and Im so pleased with the end result.

Janet from Decades of Style Patterns contacted me to ask if I would be keen on testing their TLC Caftan from their Decades Everyday range. She sent me the line drawing & for a moment I was thinking…Nope. Never. This is not me. Then….I had a little brain wave. When I looked at how the waist cinches in & actually how fitted it can be, I thought { WAIT } there could be something here. I know that V-necks suit my figure. I know that cross-overs & wraps suit my figure. So this seemed like something I should take a shot at.

Decades01

Decades02

Before the pattern even arrived I had already earmarked a fabric for it.  I bought this Vintage Silk Sari from India years ago & I had taken it out of my stash numerous times thinking it would be suitable for a pattern. Alas, it was never used. I could see the sari was well used but incredibly well looked after & loved. I really always wanted to find a pattern that was worthy of this gorgeous cloth and so, when the pattern arrived I just knew that it would do the silk justice.

Deciding on fabric layout was difficult. I wanted to incorporate the gold border detail in the caftan but running down the “wing” side seams just felt like too much. So I used the gold border on the hem & I think it gives just enough detail without being too overwhelming.

Decades03

The Caftan is not lined so the silk is pretty sheer however I do plan to make a plain grey slip { Named Patterns \ Lane Slip, which I think is now OOP } to layer underneath for when I do want to wear it without showing my underthings. Otherwise I still have the option of wearing it as is over my swimsuit etc.

I have a round birthday coming up this month so Im thinking of wearing it then, glam’d up with heels, appropriate hair & makeup. Should be fun. Decades06

Decades04

The Caftan is pullover so there are no zips, no buttons, no clasps. Just straight over the head. The waist inset has ties on the inside that you then tie back to front either side as tight or as loose as you desire. I like mine to be tied pretty tight because it gives the fitted look without it being fitted at all. Bloody Genius! To make things even better, there is an option to add pockets (which I omitted) and 2 lengths to choose from but as us sewists know, we can make things as short or as long as we want or need anyway. Also, the wings on the side which make this a Caftan, can be made in 2 lengths but again, cut those panels as wide or as narrow as you like. It really is up to you.

The pattern comes in 11 sizes and includes bust sizes 32 to 52″. Amazing.

This pattern took me totally by surprise folks. I did not think I would love it as much as I do. Its a clever little design showing off some lovely gathers at the shoulder & waist so I see another of these coming soon. The next wedding we are invited to I will have to make an evening version of this. I can see a beautiful double crepe in a rich jewel colour with beading on the front & back waist inset which would just look amazing. I really love that this pattern is so versatile depending on your choice of fabric.

Thanks Decades for trusting me with this. You were not only a pleasure to work with but you also pushed me beyond what I thought was possible for me to wear & for that I am so grateful. Its made me revisit other patterns I never thought would suit me either so I’ll definitely be taking more chances in the future.

xAnge

6 thoughts on “{ DECADES OF STYLE } An unlikely paring…

  1. Hey! Welcome back! I was *just* thinking about you the other day…can’t remember why exactly, but here you are. 🙂 The caftan is gorgeous and so are you! Well done!

    1. Awww, aren’t you the sweetest. Thank you so much. I really need to get my act into gear & blog more often again. So much to show, never enough time to document. x

      1. Just don’t feel guilty about it! Blog when you can and you want to. You have a life happening! Blogging’s no fun if you feel like you *have* to. 🙂

leave your keyboard shuffle here....