sewing

{ MATERNITY } Dressing the bump…

Having recently gone through a pregnancy, I thought Id share with those of you interested in the clothes I found comfortable, practical & wearable especially during the last trimester when everything is a challenge.

To start off, I found maternity wear in the stores rather uncomfortable. I tried on quite a bit of it along the way just to see what looked good & to be honest, I never bought a single thing besides a pair of black jeans (which I wore constantly until spring hit) & a pair of blue jeans which I hardly wore at all. My sister however gifted me 2 pairs of maternity shorts she used a few  years back & I loved those. I could wear them postpartum too which was great. The rest I made and or wore regular clothes. That being said, I think I was fortunate to have my final months over spring/early summer so I could wear dresses & skirts which flared nicely over the bump.

For me right up until the end I was able to wear mostly regular clothes on my top half. I found t-shirts, knit/jersey tops really practical. The lower half I dressed in the aforementioned black jeans or the Megan Neilsen Ruched Maternity Skirt (now called the Erin Maternity Skirt). I made this in black & wore it alot. Easy to make & super comfortable. Also easy to dress up or just be casual in. I also made the Megan Neilsen Alissa Maternity top without the long ties, ie. just to tuck into the skirt but ended up making it too big so only wore it once.

Another item I made was Butterick 5796 top (view A) with the twisty detail and loved that paired with said jeans or ruched skirt. The detail on the top was super fiddly but once I got it right it went together really well. Would i make it again….probably not. B5796IMG_4028

I purchased a few other maternity patterns that I wanted to try but never got around to it. If Im ever lucky enough to be pregnant again I might try them otherwise I’ll gift those patterns to someone somewhere along the line.

So, what did I wear besides these pieces I made ? Well, I purchased maxi dresses in knit fabrics (boobtube style) for the summer which I wore endlessly especially right in the end. They were super comfie & gave bump the space it needed with no squeezing of the waist etc. Id highly recommend these types of dresses. I jazzed them up with a cardigan or kimono over if I needed…or as per below with a gold belt.19

I also wore alot of non-maternity pieces that Ive made but were roomy enough to accommodate bump…

Vogue 1027 which is the DKNY dress that I made back in 2013. Especially in the warmer months, this really was a go-to getup for bump & I. The fabric is a stretch & therefore fitted well, comfortably & saw me right to the very end. In fact, I wore this dress to the hospital & home again 3 days later. V1027

NL6150 in the floral. Real handy maternity tee. Its definitely all to do with the fabric I used for this because the protea one I made in cotton jersey did not fit over the bump after about 6 months.

I had made this Maria Denmark Kimono Tee (which is a free pattern if you sign up for the newsletter) in the beginning of my pregnancy & I wore it all the way through to the end. Love this Tee I have no words. Its super easy to sew together & so incredibly comfie. You’ll notice I used black & coral quite a bit over the pieces – wasn’t planned, just worked out that way 🙂Kimono Tee

McCalls 6751 made in a polycotton black with pink polka came in handy. Its slightly short in the front but paired with my black maternity shorts or ruched skirt, was a winner.

For special occasions, the V2091 DKNY black number proved stretchy enough to cover the bump for a function at 7 months but I doubt it would have stretched much more to accommodate anything much later.  Unfortunately the V2091 is OOP.

NL6254 I blogged about during my pregnancy so you can read about that top here if you missed it.

All in all, I dont think one has to spend a fortune on maternity specific items. Be sensible about what you purchase if you do & if you make anything, be sure to make wrap dresses that can be worn again or basics like the ruched skirt that can go with absolutely anything. That would be my advice.

So to all of you expecting, Congratulations & good luck with dressing your bump. Any questions, do shout.

xxAnge

 

2 thoughts on “{ MATERNITY } Dressing the bump…

  1. Lucky you, being able to wear your non-maternity tops that long! I gravitate towards things that are more fitted in the waist, which is why I still have trouble finding things in my closet that fit 4 months post-baby. So I’m trying to go for more relaxed styles now, so I have more versatility wherever we decide to try to get our little guy a sibling.

    1. You already thinking siblings…crikey 🙂
      Seriously though, everyone’s body is different & comfort is key…especially in that last trimester.
      I too still have trouble fitting into some pre-pregnancy stuff even though I was able to get into my favourite jeans 6 weeks post baby. The trouble is not the weight, but the SHAPE thats changed…but thats for another post!! 🙂

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

