pattern review · sewing

{ VOGUE 8888 } Sleepwear…

Im notoriously bad at buying sleepwear. What I do have lasts me forever because to be honest, I dont wear that much sleepwear. Sounds weird I know but in the past its been too easy to throw on a t-shirt & shorts or sweats & be done with it but Ive come around to the thinking that some pretty sleepwear is not a bad thing. Ask the hubster, he’ll tell ya its a great thing.

So I decided to give V8888 a try. I chose the cami & the panties/shorts to start. I wanted to see what the fit was like before I made it with something expensive like charmeuse so I pulled out this really old stretch something or another that ive been hoarding for years. I never really loved this fabric so it seemed like the perfect option for  a muslin if you will… but as you know, I do not like that particular “m” word.

The first thing I noticed about the instructions is they fail to mention that pieces 12 & 14 are required! These pieces make up the cups of the cami & the yoke front so IMO, very important pieces. Anyway, now you know. Apart from that little error, instructions are good.

I did not use lace overlay to my cups because this was a (insert “m” word here) remember. I overlocked all my pieces and the cami came together remarkably quick. As it started to take shape I realised I actually liked how it was looking so I decided to add some lace trim to the bottom of the cami & the knickers once it was all finished. For the straps I used double organza ribbon in cream & brown with little bows on the ends. The little shorts are so easy to make. 2 seams, some elastic & lace trim & they done.

As much as I love you all, this quick iphone image is the most you’ll be getting out of me as far as finished garment is concerned.  Vogue8888_sleepwear

Its cute huh?!

Overall, a great pattern with additional length on the cami as well as another slip & gown options. I do love the Vogue patterns with multi-garments in one envelope – they are such good value for money. This pattern is still available in print so do check it out if you looking for sleepwear.

Keep sewin’ on xx

7 thoughts on “{ VOGUE 8888 } Sleepwear…

  1. Ha I also desperately need/ want some pretty sleepwear. Yours look cute! Sleepwear…somehow it just gets pushed to the back of the list. I think in a silk these will be gorgeous .

  2. They are very cute! So far, the only jammies, I’ve sewn have been ridiculously utilitarian. Must bust out some fancy fabric and a more ‘intimate’ pattern.

  3. Love this set! I need new sleepwear, too, but am dreading the work that’s required to support the girls properly. *sigh* Your set looks comfy and perfect. Are you going to break out some silk for a second set?

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

