chit-chat · travel

{ ABSENT } Ive been gone so long even WordPress thought it time to upgrade without me…

Yip friends, thats what happens when your’e absent from blogging for almost a month!

We just had to break away for a little holiday. Those that follow me on Instagram will know we took a little us-time to Italy. It was just a week but it was enough to recharge the batteries before heading back to work to start a new project & deal with the snagging of the old.

We traveled by car coz the hubster has been doing so much air travel recently. I couldn’t ask him to do airports & planes for holiday too so a little driving it was. First stop was { BIBIONE }, then onto Venice for the day, then to Lake Garda, then up into “The Roof of Italy” to Merano, back into Austria to Salzburg and then home. We drove, slept, wined, dined, swam, hiked, moaned our way through Italy whilst sampling all the gelato we could along the way. Let me tell you Bibione might have been the most touristy but boy oh boy did we have AH-MAZING gelato there! Id drive 5 hours back to Bibione just for the dark chocolate ice-cream…you dont believe me…I absolutely would.

{ VENICE} was lovely. Fell in love with this perfect city with all its flaws. We didnt find it smelly or over-priced at all but I guess thats because we’ve lived in some expensive countries/cities to know when things are really bonkers expensive. Im pretty sure there are some bonkers places but in general, its european prices all day, every day.  Id go back in a heart beat & Im not just romanced by the touristy stuff that everyone does because I dont really subscribe to that crap to be honest.  I was just romanced by how peculiar and different Venice is.  I seek out the oddness & peculiar in everything so for me this was a treasure chest just waiting to be explored.Italy_Grand_Canal_July2014

{ LAKE GARDA } was disappointing, weather wise and otherwise. It was not what I was expecting, bar the lake of course so it was no great shakes to leave & press on to Merano.

{ MERANO } was beautiful, full of lush green vineyards. Very Austrian/German in every way but the Italian still manages to shine through here and there.

{ SALZBURG } – oh Salzburg. You know how much I love Salzburg. One night was enough to remind me of my love for this city.

Salzburg_July2014

A great little getaway filled with spectacular views. Italy_July_2014

So now Im back at work and headed to London tomorrow. Its a short in & out business trip that unfortunately I didnt have much time to plan. Back in May I was supposed to join Rachel and all of you at the London get together. I was all booked & ready at the airport but unfortunately, I was not allowed to board the plane. UK Immigration is a bitch I’ll tell ya that!! I dont travel on an EU passport, I was denied entry to the UK and therefore my passport had to go into the Embassy for stickers and stuff. (Now dont be thinking how did she not know she needs visas/permits etc coz Im not that clouded over…..the system is chaos! I had been traveling in & out of London for 2 years without any problems until that farking day!)

I received my passport back last Thursday after what seemed like an eternity. Im stickered up & ready to rumble. I could go on for days about my immigration situation and while I would very much like to vent here, I think its probably better that I dont.

Long story short is that I’ll be in Londontown quite a lot over the coming months. Most of the trips will be quick in & outs for business but Im hoping that I can at least get to meet some of you & shop fabric while Im there.

Lovies to you all

x ange

2 thoughts on “{ ABSENT } Ive been gone so long even WordPress thought it time to upgrade without me…

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

