pattern review · sewing

{ EASY LIVING } Kimono…

This project has actually been finished for quite some time. Life happens & that means some things have to take a back seat but Im cool with that. Are you?

Browsing one of my favourite websites I came across this fabric that looked delicious enough to eat. It was listed as “Ramie” & since I had no idea what it was, I decided the surest way to find out was to just order a piece.  Wiki doesnt make it sound too appetizing but dont listen to Wiki coz in fabric form, its delish. Its got the texture of linen but it feels like cotton – what more could you possibly ask for when you have summer on your mind?! Now I do wish I had ordered more than the a mere metre… Style2254_side

Style2254_side02

I had wanted to whip me up a Kimono-style somethin’ for some time. I settled on an old Style pattern (#2254) and used the robe as a place to start. If you’re interested in checking this pattern out, there is one available on Etsy for the moment. BTW, does anyone know if Style Patterns Ltd still exists ? Or what happened to them ? I remember them having some really awesome patterns..

Anyway, I shortened the length overall as well as the sleeves & instead of attaching lace trims, I used the extra unwanted length to add nice broad hems. Also, because I didnt sew in the lace trim, where the shoulder meets the back neck, I simply folded over the facing & stitched it down. Style2254_facing

There is nothing to say about the sew because its dirt easy…novice easy. Kimono_Style2254

Till next time – Ange x

{ feeling (& looking) particularly fragile today after the rolling stones concert in vienna last night. it was so good i could quite possibly die feeling rather musically satisfied today. if you ever get the chance to see those blokes live, take it. i promise you would not be disappointed }

9 thoughts on “{ EASY LIVING } Kimono…

  1. I don’t think I’ve heard of this fabric before this month, it seems like another blogger tried some out too, but I can’t remember who…guess I’m going to have to see if I can track some down. 🙂 This looks so chic and nice and cool for the summer. 🙂 And lucky you on the concert! I haven’t been to a big name concert in aaaaaages, either Chris LeDoux or KISS was probably the last “big name” I’ve seen.

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

