sewing

{ EASY SILK } Copy Cat top…

Seven Years ago I purchased a lovely simple  pullover top that Ive worn pretty much every week of my life since…Its that lovely.

With easy knit at the back & a gorgeous printed satin in the front, it started to look a little worse for wear. Ok, ok…it looked a little worse for wear around 3 years ago already but for some reason, I still see it as pristine as it was the day I carried it home in my shopping bag.

It was time to reproduce.

So I traced the pattern off which wasnt very hard given its just a block with boat neck. I chose a grey knit/jersey for the back as well but for the front I used the piece of 8mm Light Pink Silk Habotai I purchased a few months ago. The baby pink was a little too clean for me, so I dirtied it up  with my favourite RIT liquid dyes using the colour formulation for “Titanium” from the Fall 2012 Pantone colours RIT has on their website. I used 1/4 tsp Kelly Green, 1/4 tsp Black with 4 cups of water & added extra colour as I needed to intensify where needed. I dipped my silk until it looked more or less how I wanted it, rinsed and laid it out to dry.  RIT_liquid_dyeing

 

RIT_dyed_silk

Pink & grey are one of my { FAVOURITE } colour combinations. Pink is so girly & grey is so soft, the two go together perfectly. In fact, I love grey with everything really!

The silk & jersey sewed together without any problems. I was anxious at first – it could have been a full on fuck up! I hadnt tested the two fabrics together….should I be admitting that?!? Truth be told, Im quite a rouge when it comes to sewing in a way. I dont muslin (or hate doing when my better judgement insists), I hardly ever test fabrics & sometimes, I dont even pre-wash….even though its one of the first things I advise when someone asks me about sewing!! hahaha. Rich, I know, but thats how I roll.

So here’s how she looked once sewn up :Silk_jersey_top_front

The neck facing near my right shoulder doesn’t sit 100% flat….think it has something to do with the interfacing in that area. Ive already unpicked her there & will give it another go just so she’s perfect but on the whole, I really love it. Its simple & so easy to wear. Id make this again…probably not with an 8mm silk because it is quite fine but definitely with the 2 fabric combinations.

Hope you all had an awesome weekend!!

x Ange

11 thoughts on “{ EASY SILK } Copy Cat top…

  1. Yes to pink and grey together! 🙂 The blouse looks cute and comfy, and I love the colors. One of these days I should try dyeing. I keep not doing it because it’s kind of expensive and I’m afraid I’ll like it… 😉

  2. This looks so good and comfy, I might copy it :). It’s like a t-shirt in the back and blouse in the front. Cool!

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

