sewing

{ HAPPINESS IS } Silks…

Fabric makes me incredibly happy…

Happy like summer rain, like bacon & eggs, like hearing children laugh…

But what makes me even happier is { SILK }.

Oh dear, the lengths I would go to for a piece of silk…

Enter FD Silk, based in China & its instant EL-OH-VEE-EEE { LOVE }. I discovered their website last year via Red Point Tailor (thank you) & quickly saved the deets for future reference. I had held out so long on purchasing The Great Anna so when I eventually took the plunge in December, I thought it only apt that I teamed it up with some silk. Hence the reason I was trawling for a good silk supplier. Admittedly, I could have just ordered from Mood but the postage to Europe would have cost me a small fortune over & above the cost of their silks.

So I selected some colour options over at FD Silk & contacted Ms Zoe for some assistance. She went above & beyond to help me with sending extra images of the silks I had enquired about so I could compare the colours – helpful in every single minute detail. What more could you ask for huh??!!

It was time to select the weights of the silks & what type of silk I needed. They offer Silk Organza, Silk Crepe de Chine (CdC), Silk Stretch Satin (Charmeuse), Silk Charmeuse, Silk Georgette / Chiffon in various weights ranging from 8mm to 40mm…the higher the number, the heavier the silk allowing for better wear.  The heavier the weight, the more expensive it becomes too but well worth the investment especially for those special garments. The mm stands for Momme (pronounced MOE-ME) specific to silk.

I purchased 1m each of 8mm Silk Habotai which I plan on making a slip vest/blouse with. I love these two colours together. They look like a swirly fresh summer ice-cream & believe me when I say it feels like heaven. The sheen is absolutely beautiful. For reference, the colour on the left is called “Pinkish Purple” similar to a lavender mauve type shade and the lighter shade on the right is called “Light Pink” naturally.8mm_habotai_white

I also purchased 7m of 14mm Crepe de Chine which I specifically have one in mind for my Anna. Can you guess which one ?? 🙂14mm_crepe_de_chine

The CdC is gorgeous but quite different to the Habotai. While its completely luxurious & soft, it doesn’t have the same sheen you see on the Habotai & thats ok because it is a different finish of course. From L-R “Plum Purple” which is a hot pink, “Light Purple” which is self explanatory & screams Pantone 2014 Colour of the Year and “Bright Yellow” which is the brightest happiest piece of fabric I think Ive ever purchased. All completely different, but equally beautiful.

Since choosing colours online is so hard, I also asked Zoe to send me some samples for future use as well as some samples of the different weights. Silk_sample_card

The colour swatch card is the one on the top. I folded my swatches out so I could see the back of the fabric too because sometimes the reverse side takes on a different colour as is the case with the charmeuse especially. Its kinda cool to see how the finishes vary depending on which side you use. Amanda recently posted a project in which she did exactly this – used the reverse side of her silk for the blouse & the shiny side for the collar. { STUNNING }

The bigger sample cards are all different examples of the various weights which is { SUPER SUPER } helpful & extremely fun to paw through. The stretch satin/charmeuse has such a gorgeous hand it will blow ya socks off & the 30mm CdC has me totally captivated.

So, if you’re looking for a silk supplier, head on over to FD Silk & speak to Zoe about what you require. My parcel was sent with UPS on Friday & was delivered to my front door on the following Tuesday – amazing. Even the UPS dude was amazed at their own service. I do love me some instant(ish) gratification, especially when it involves fabric & silk. The cost of postage varies depending on where & the weight but I found the postage fairly reasonable given the distance.

***For those wondering, I paid for this entire order, nothing was sponsored***

I just love to spread the word on great product & excellent service especially because it seems to be few & far between these days.

Happy Shopping my lovelies x

 

9 thoughts on “{ HAPPINESS IS } Silks…

  1. Ooh! I’ve always wanted to sew with some silk that wasn’t that nasty slubby stuff, but it’s never in the budget. I love the info about the weights and such though, I never realized that there was a “weight” difference between silks of the same type. I’m totally jealous of your pretties and can’t wait to see which one becomes the Anna, though I’m thinking the yellow one…

    1. Beauties huh…!
      “Momme” to silk is the “thread count” to cotton in a way. I love that different silks can be used for different applications ie. Habotai for scarves & linings etc but when it comes to sewing – there are no rules so go with what you feel is right 🙂 x

  2. Another silk lover here, and thanks for the link to another trader. I have used Angus International in Hong Kong in the past, they have a nice range and post promptly. There website is a little funky though, but you send for samples.

  3. Oh silk…so lovely to wear but a b*****d to sew with. And expensive! I recently went to a real live fabric shop and they were selling the most gorgeous printed silks at £49.99 p/m. Should I save up my pennies and make a T-shirt?

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

