pattern review · sewing

{ DATURA } Splat!

You know how excited I was for the Datura to drop through my box last week….I dont need to tell ya again do I?! Postage was super fast & efficient, direct from { PARIS }.

I got matching fabrics, cutting & sewing before the pattern could even make it to storage.  I decided to go for a version without the peter pan colour and without the cutouts & chose a fushia pink satin for the yoke which I used on the reverse side because I found the depth of fushia better and I didnt want the bling bling of the shiny shiny. The fushia pink I had used previously for another top but there was sufficient left over to cut the yoke although I will admit to having overestimated just how much, resulting in me having to cut the inner back yoke as two pieces instead of one. I just didnt have enough fushia to cut it on the fold so it means I have a join on the inner back. No great shakes coz no-one sees it – I just thought Id be honest coz Im down like that 🙂 I  used the offcut from my Cloudy Day Dress to cut the front & back pieces.

I think they make an unexpected combination that works well.Deer&Doe_Datura_front

Normally when a brand is new to me, I usually cut the pattern a size bigger just incase the fit is small. In the recent past you will have noticed all my efforts in this regard have taught me that cutting a size bigger is not really necessary because I usually have luck with sizing. Not this time Im afraid { SOB SOB }.  I decided to cut the pattern my size & let me just say the fit is snug….snugger than I’d like. Wearable of course, but snug! { DOH  DOH DOH ! }  So, I’ll be going back to my madness method in future. We live ‘n learn huh. Deer&Doe_Datura_sideDeer&Doe_Datura_top

This particular Deer & Doe pattern is marked as { ADVANCED }. I agree but disagree because although the yoke is tricky, I wouldn’t necessarily call it advanced sewing. Nevertheless, once you’ve gotten past the yoke, she comes together lightning fast. I did find the instructions a little hit ‘n miss in places but totally workable.

In lieu of using buttons to the back, I went for silver press studs/snaps instead. The buttons are not functional, ie. you dont need them to get the blouse on & off, but it does add a lovely touch to the back, one Id never omit because I love the button back detail. I purchased the Hemline brand Starter Kit snaps that has all the pieces plus the plastic tool for inserting these suckers. Well let me just say that even the hubster had a hard time with these things. { NIGHTMARE }. They instruct you to work on a hard, flat & impact proof surface. Fine. But once you hit that sucker with a hammer, the top of the stud gets stuck in the plastic holder & once you’ve managed to pry it out, the top of the stud is flattened!! We didn’t even whack it very hard, { PROMISE }!!! Indeed, practice made perfect but dear me, after ruining 4 or 5 studs in the process. Anyway, it adds a nice element to the blouse so lets forgive & forget shall we. Deer&Doe_Datura_snaps

Oh yeah, I constructed using fushia pink thread which looks kinda cool especially around the button placket and hem. Had I used buttons, I probably would have either used pink buttons or sewn the buttons on with pink thread. Plenty time for experimentation in the future ‘ey.Deer&Doe_Datura_back

Highly recommend the Datura. Will definitely be making more…. in a size larger! Im thinking pastels for spring this year and a plain white one for summer….Hmmmm.

Thanks for popping by x

20 thoughts on “{ DATURA } Splat!

  1. Ah… good fabric combo but as you say completely unexpected as a pairing. I’m so tempted by this pattern for the summer but I have Belladone pattern that’s been sat waiting for almost a year.

  2. The fabric looks so different then what I glimpsed on Instagram.. I love it! I love the 2 together and you did a fine job. I especially like those buttons in the back!

  3. I love how you colour blocked this, it is such a nice combo! This pattern is cute, I would not have guessed it was advanced, but I’m constantly doing that, figuring a pattern is SO easy, until I try it and then assuming others are SO difficult until I try them, as well.

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

