chit-chat · sewing

{ VELVET } What to do ?

I was gifted a lovely piece of black velvet recently.

Its a 2m x 1,5m wide piece….not stretchy in any way.

I have { ZERO } experience with sewing velvet so I would love to read anything you have to throw at me….

PS.  Ive been really crap at keeping my blog up to date lately. I have excuses but  I know I dont need excuses  – just know that Id much rather be here than busy on these other things that are taking up time in my life right now. Thats all 🙂

14 thoughts on “{ VELVET } What to do ?

  1. Do you have young/little ones? I made a velvet christmas dress for a 6 month old niece. You could make a nice holiday skirt. The biggest problem I found with velvet is that it is so thick. Also, you need to make sure that the pieces are laid out properly because of the nap.

    1. No kids yet unfortunately 😦
      I thought of making a holiday skirt but for some reason, velvet always seems so dated to me. Then I thought of making a strapless wiggle dress, simple, uncomplicated but Im not sure there’s enough fabric. Thanks for your suggestions – I will keep them in mind.

  2. Why not make a velvet blazer? Something kind of edgy like the one from By Hand London, maybe? With cream satin accents? If you have enough left you can make a matching pencil skirt. 🙂

  3. I’ve made a few jackets in velvet, I think its a good suggestion if there’s enough fabric. Be aware when planning your pattern that most velvet shades, that is you have to put all the pieces the same way up and can’t dovetail.

  4. Wow, 2 metres! A jacket, an Anna dress for Christmas Day, loungy pants… tunic….
    Just remember to keep the pile running the same way when you cut out – selvedge fold in half or else you have to take the brave step and cut it in two. Looking forward to what you will produce and lucky you for receiving such a gift.

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

