sewing

{ VOGUE 8827 } Progress…

Even though the weekend hasn’t quite panned out the way I had planned in my mind, Ive still managed to spend some time in the sewing room today scratching my head over V8827.  The collar has been a real biatch my dears. Its had me cursing in every language I know. First I pinned the back to the collar section on incorrectly { FUCK }, then once I had re-pinned & sewed I realised I had put the collar on back to front. { SHEIßE }. Pulled everything out, start again. Then came the puckers. { FOK }.  Never.ending.nightmare.

Alas, Ive taken a breather to pin the berryliciousness to Poppy & admire her thus far.  What is it about a garment that gives you trouble every step of the way but as soon as it starts going well all is forgiven….I mean completely forgiven. { AMAZING }.V8827_progress1

Im not entirely satisfied with the way the  extended collar is draping due to the collar being self-faced. Hmmm…what to do?! Leave it the way it is or change it now before I sew in the back yoke facing …. perhaps with some steaming the fabric will drape better! { DECISIONS DECISIONS }

Also, I have not stitched the side seams as yet but I have a sneaky sneaky suspicion I have some serious adjustments to make to the side seams. The dress just seems far too big at the moment but then again, Im yet to try it on my own body. There is a good chance my ass & bewbs might fill it more satisfactorily.

Ok lovelies, trust you’ve had a good weekend. More soon…x

 

7 thoughts on “{ VOGUE 8827 } Progress…

  1. I love it! I say leave the drape alone. Sometimes we over think things…at least I do…ALL THE TIME, lol! I think it’s looking great! I am working on a dress about that same color, with a drape as well. It’s a burda pattern (7087). And, I have the same sneaky suspicion you have about yours. But, guess what, mine does not have side seams…only darts at the sides…um hum! 😉 Plus, this pattern’s sizing is so awkward…I just did not feel like fitting…we’ll see.

  2. Yay for Vogue 8827! Keep pressing forward because its going to look great. I finally stopped by to say hello and add you to my blog reader. Thanks for being a consistent and kind commenter for me. I always appreciate your words.

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

