pattern review · sewing

{ McCALLS 6751 } Again ?…

Yep, again…albeit this time View D.McCalls_6751_front

I had such fun with View A last week, so before it had a chance to be categorized & numerically stored (because thats how the OCD side of my personality rolls) I decided to whip up View D for some extra fun.

I dug around my stash & found this poly-cotton blend in black with pink polkas. Ive had this fabric in my stash for about 8 or 9 years so it was time to be used. Im not one to blame my tools or materials, but this fabric made the sew fairly troublesome. It slipped around while I was sewing & I noticed the overall finish not as good as I know it could be. Once it got its final press, things looked better but I still dont think this top will be worn any place other than around the house – and thats ok with me because its cool & comfie. McCalls_6751_side

As I said with View A, this is a terribly easy pattern to sew which can be turned around in one hour. For all views, the same front piece is used only swapping out the backs for whichever design you prefer. View D is more conservative compared to View A with a full covered, sloping back & cute pleats to the top for a little detail. As with View A, I french seamed side seams as well as shoulder seams however this time I also sewed down the french seam giving a top-stitch to the seams for something different.McCalls_6751_back

You can bind the edges with bias binding or do as I did by simply hemming.

Im guessing I wont stop sewing this pattern until Ive made at least all 4 options….so you will have to bear with me lovelies 🙂 Since this pattern is so perfect (& easy) for summer, Im making the most of the 35 degree plus weather & getting some last summer sewing in while I can. McCalls_6751_detail

In other news, I also wanted to thank Red Point Tailor for the thoughtful Super Sweet Blogging Award from a few weeks back. I absolutely appreciate every single visitor to my blog, but love reading  your blogs even more 🙂 For me, the community of sewing bloggers is a positive reminder every day that there are wonderfully talented & thoughtful women (and men) out there always ready to inspire.

Thanks for stopping by x

7 thoughts on “{ McCALLS 6751 } Again ?…

  1. Sorry the fabric was a pain to work with, because it’s very cute. And I like the end result too, though it’s definitely not the showstopper the first version was. 😉

  2. I’m so glad you are blogging about this pattern! I just bought it and went onto Pattern Review, which I just joined to see if others had already given it a try (and I really want to know if a bra shows through the keyhole–according to one reviewer, it does…bummer). It’s great to see your thoughts on the different views. It will definitely help me make some sewing decisions. Also, I need a quick project to get me moving on the sewing again. 🙂

    1. Glad my posts on this pattern were useful to you. The keyhole version I have not tried (but come summer I probably will). I think it would depend on the type of bra you wear with the keyhole…it may work, it may not. That said, I have no problem flashing a bright, cheerful coloured underthing in summer & these days you can find some lovely lacey bras that would look great peeking through 🙂

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

