pattern review · sewing

{ FRUSTRATION FUNDAY } Shifting to a wadder…

Ive been wondering why its the simple patterns that have me in a fit sometimes….Why is it that I feel Im so competent in details like the pea coat or my wildest dreams dress but when it comes to some piss-willy basic shift dress, I lose all ability to make it work. Is it me or the freakin’ pattern ?

Not so long ago I was praisingΒ New Look patterns. { HA } Big fat HA. I failed to recall I had in fact tried to sew the 6862 shift dress before – in the same fabric too! I mean honestly, WTF was I thinking?! Perhaps I thought because I had tried this pattern back in 2005 & assuming my skill had improved since then (which it absolutely has), why was the second attempt as nasty as the first? Β It just looks like a sack!!NewLook_6862_front1

The fabric is so sweet with the borders & the beautiful soft colours. The print is so tight that you can hardly see the seams making it so perfect for this little shift. But Im just not loving it at all & I can already hear the choir singing the muslin song…!!!? But quiet down…if sewing is a religion then no judging please πŸ™‚

My issues with this pattern stem mostly from the fact that it is indeed not a pattern for women with curves. If you have booty, you WILL be screwed by this pattern because without darts to the “skirt” you will have all sorts of nasty everything going on around the middle parts. Which brings me to the suggestion that more pattern companies jump the bandwagon suggesting ,as Vogue calls it “Figure Flattery”, ie. the inverted triangle, the triangle, the rectangle & the hourglass. { GENIUS }. All of those symbols are pretty self explanatory!!

Anyway, Ive started tackling the middles with darts giving the sack some shape & pinned out the top of the border to make the lines cleaner & its beginning to summon up some affection, if only somewhat.

NewLook_6862_front2NewLook_6862_side

I fear that it dont matter what I do to this dress, I will probably never feel comfortable in it so Im playing with the idea of pulling it all apart & using the “scraps” for something else along the line…somewhere!

Frustration doesnt even begin to explain, but what really hurts is the fact that looking at the pattern, it should be an easy sew.

I’ll be letting this stew for a few days…somethings gotta give!!

5 thoughts on “{ FRUSTRATION FUNDAY } Shifting to a wadder…

  1. I wish I had some good advice for you on this, but I don’t. I’d guess that using the scraps to make something else would probably be your best bet. And throw away that pattern!! Unless you believe in that whole “3rd time’s a charm” thing…. πŸ˜‰

    1. i have absolutely no “beliefs” when it comes to this pattern….Im going to hang onto the pattern for now. maybe one day I will have a stick figure daughter that will enjoy it πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve noticed the same quirk in my sewing efforts. The more demanding and detailed the pattern, the more successful the project. The simpler the dress, the more PITA it is. *sigh* I guess it’s a bit like playing/singing Mozart: looks simple on the page (due to the relatively small number of notes) but is extremely difficult to perform well simply *because* it’s so simple. This is why I dread shift dresses…..

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

