chit-chat · sewing

{ THOUGHTS TO PONDER } Back to basics…

I was listening to the Thread Cult podcast with Kenneth D. King regarding “The Art of Fit” recently. (Before I go on, I just wanted to say what a lovely thing Thread Cult is…thank you Christine!!!)

Ok back to my point :

As Christine & Kenneth touched on the subject of the lost art of sewing & how most schools no longer offer this as an option for our kids to learn…I felt struck by lightning. Isn’t it so sad how the technology age has completely over-ridden the chance of kids learning how to do basic hand craft?!

I began to wonder how many great designers we are missing out on because they are never given the opportunity to discover sewing. We need more great McQueens dammit!

Im thrilled with the sewing revival… TV shows like Project Runway & The Great British Sewing Bee are doing wonderful things for generations to come. Im hoping that these shows spark the interest in todays kids, that they would otherwise lack especially if schools are no longer offering them that spark. Im hoping that we as mothers, aunts, sisters & friends will inspire our kids to sew, craft & enjoy the basic handcrafts of yesteryear rather than submitting to the junk thrown on shelves these days in mass & outrageous proportions.

Today I pledge that I will do whatever it takes to make sure that my kids (whenever that may be) learn basic but necessary crafts. I pledge to inspire & teach them everything I know & then live in hope that one day they teach their kids & so on…..& so on….

Any thoughts ? Are you teaching your kids about sewing/knitting etc ? Also, are your kids even interested ?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “{ THOUGHTS TO PONDER } Back to basics…

  1. I am teaching my granddaughters to sew. They are 8 and 4 and yes they are very interested. The oldest has even been draping on an old dress form of mine!

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

