pattern review · sewing

{ NEW LOOK 6088 OOP } Moody mauve …

I had such great results sewing my first NL 6088 a few weeks back that I decided to try one of the other versions { VIEW D } of this pattern because I loved the gathered bit at the front. NL6088_drawing

Below the deets :

{ DESCRIPTION } Easy top options (seven in this pattern) to combine as you like however now OOP, sorry if you dont have it!

{ FABRIC USED } A mauve single knit however not nearly as soft as the red used previously & therefore not nearly as much stretch or comfy feeling.

{ SIZING } I cut my usual size

{ INSTRUCTIONS } Good

{ CHANGES } With the previous top { VIEW B } I left the facings off which worked extremely well with the red fabric. This time, the fabric was curling like crazy so I was forced to insert the facings. They worked however Im not wild about them.  For the arm holes, I simply folded them over twice & top stitched them evenly. When I tried the top on it looked a little strange having the top stitch around the arm holes & not along the neckline so I finished the neck line with a topstitch to match. Looked better & solved the problem with the facings curling up & bunching. Thank goodness I had a good colour match for the cotton…. { WHEW }.

{ LEVEL OF DIFFICULTY } * Super easy

{ TIME } From start to finish, this top took me around 1 & a half hours.

{ SUM IT UP } I definitely prefer the previous top in red more than this one. I love the mauve shade of this but for some reason the knit just wasn’t the best match…I think the red knit had more viscose whereas the mauve is more cotton. I would use a softer knit for these tops in the future however still a highly recommended pattern for a quick, instant gratification project.NL6088_frontNL6088_gather

Thanks for stopping by.

7 thoughts on “{ NEW LOOK 6088 OOP } Moody mauve …

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

