knit

{ KNIT } Its ready when it sizzles…

sizzleThe Sizzle is 100% complete. { HOORAY }

I think I started this mid-Feb when I was still on the couch recovering with the ankle shackle. It actually knitted up fairly fast however I tend to only knit in the evenings & for some weeks I did not lift this at all so all in all, I would say it took me about a month and a half excluding the mini vacations in between.

{ THE YARN } I used Rowan 100% Handknit Cotton in Bleached as advised & I cant rave about this yarn enough. Its so beautiful, soft & extreme white – I just want this yarn in every single colour possible….my life would then be complete!  I ordered 6 balls and I used { EVERYTHING }.sizzle_closeup

{ THE PATTERN } You will find the Sizzle in the Whisper book by Kim Hargreaves. Pictured it was in the white and I was quite tempted to do this in red, but Im glad I went for the white because I have so much more to wear it with. The pattern was not terribly complicated however at first I was quite confused by the pattern & had to frog back a few times before getting it right. Even though I consider myself a beginner, I found this easy enough to knit guided by some YouTube tuts to explain the things I didnt understand fully.  Its a basic knit and purl stitch  with a twist in every couple of rows by adding a YRN2 or YRN3 to create the ladder pattern you see. Effective and easy! I followed the pattern exactly and I did not have sufficient yarn to do the sleeves however once I finished the back & front, I realised I dont need the sleeves so I left them off & didnt bother ordering another ball to do these.

The pattern repeat bit is shown in chart form as opposed to written out so I wrote the pattern out as I found it easier to follow and duplicate as I went along. To be honest, since the ladder is so random, adding an extra YRN2 here or there was not going to make any difference so dont stress too much about very single stitch.sizzle_1

The seams are tricky to do at the YRN2 edges because there is nothing to stitch into and I did see a few of the other knitters over on Ravelry advise to not YRN2 right off to the end but to include a normal knit stitch to allow for the seaming to be easier. { GOOD IDEA }

Sizing wise :  Im disappointed that its so big in width. I would probably knit this 1 or even 2 sizes smaller if I were to make it again however I dont think I need 2 of these anyway. I placed my bets that a wash & a { HOT } dryer session would shrink it sufficiently to make me happier & guess what ??? { IT WORKED – KINDA }. It shrunk the length to exactly what it should be for me & although it shrunk the width, its still not sufficient enough, for me. In the book you can see the Sizzle is wider than your average sweater but for me, this ease is a little too much.

I would recommend this pattern, its fun & interesting & it looks harder than it really is.  Thanks for stopping by x

 

9 thoughts on “{ KNIT } Its ready when it sizzles…

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

