pattern review · sewing

{ AMERSON UNDIES } The good, the bad & the ugly…

I learnt { BIG } lessons from my experience sewing the Amerson brooks. I had wanted to sew some sort of lingerie this year because I had never tried it before. These stole my heart at first sight. The good, the bad & the ugly should sum it up…but first :

amerson_undies_cottonsI used a soft ivory cotton lycra which was a scrap I picked up from a friend that worked at a well known lingerie company. I used the cotton lycra because its super silky soft and feels wonderful on the skin. I used 4 different coloured cottons for the top-stitch zigzag & button : a soft peachy pink around the waist, a lime green at the sides & crotch, bright yellow on the leg openings & a turquoise blue to attach the little button.  The cottons (part of a 30 pack of the sweetest colours) I purchased from Hema in Holland a few years back.

{ THE GOOD } They are sweet brooks, very comfie and fun. I have cheeky brooks in my armory but these are different, more bloomers if you’d like.

{ THE BAD } At first, I was a tad baffled as to which edge was the centre front and which was the centre back. I had to do some scratching but once I figured it out I marked the pattern for future & got on. TAKE NOTE : The side seam is the short straight edge, the waist is the longer straight edge!!  I also cut 2 pieces of the front in the same direction so I had to scrap one side & cut another. I wish the pattern layout would include a cutting layout for those that are using fabric with a definite right/wrong side. Its not the end of the world though…such a small piece is not going to kill me is it?! 🙂

{ THE UGLY } As I said, lessons! I learnt that I dont know much about sewing with elastic – in fact read, I know { BLOW ALL } about sewing with elastic!! The fact that my elastic was already parched should tell you how much I sew with elastic! I struggled to find the lengths in my trims tin to accommodate what was required to sew this because of the condition of my white elastic. Sure, I use elastic in a channel { OCCASIONALLY }but top stitching elastic like this equalled a disaster! By the second leg opening I had kinda found my groove but even then…it was not pretty!  It means I have much to learn about sewing with elastics and that I need to purchase some decent elastic & USE IT!

{ MORE UGLY } I also realised I think Im much bigger than I actually am. I cut out the XL thinking my ass was so big even the XL wouldnt fit. Well blow me down, I had to go back & adjust sides & waist because the XL was just far too big for me. Now, I dont usually  take much notice of size labeling because honestly, every pattern we are labeled a different size right. Going on the measurements, the L should have been my best fit but I think the fabric helped to make it seem a bit bigger as well. Who cares – they dont fall down & they comfie, thats all that interests me!! Im also thinking perhaps the over-estimation of my size should be noted under { THE GOOD } hmmm…

amerson_undies_100I would recommend these for a quick sew & I would try them again in an alternative fabric & perhaps with elastic to the insides, maybe with a lace trim.

Difficulty Rating ** (only because of the elastic problems & the CB/CF problem).

Thank you to Maddie of Madalynne for all her hard work on this pattern & of course, for making it available { FREE }. She made me smile earlier as she explains her attire for weekend cleaning! I had my wedding dress on a few weeks ago (before the ankle mishap) and my SIL looked puzzled/worried when I told her I had spent the afternoon in it. I dont do it often, if fact, its only been the 2nd or 3rd time Ive had the dress on since I was married in 2008 but I { LOVE } the super highway it puts me on straight back to my wedding day.

Thanks all for stopping by x

{ Related posts }

6 thoughts on “{ AMERSON UNDIES } The good, the bad & the ugly…

    1. my pleasure. im going to persevere with lingerie. i cant leave the elastic thing alone. i am thinking though, that there are special feet to enable a better elastic experience so i’ll be checking these out!

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

