sewing

{NY Resos and other things on my list of things to do in 2013…}

I have a long list of things I want to achieve in 2013, not just in my sewing world but in my world. {FULL STOP}. Karen over at Did you make that ?  asked sewers what their NY resos were regarding sewing and there were some interesting results. Visit Karens blog to see exactly what the stats revealed.

My sewing world :

  • I really wanted to get stuck into that dreaded alterations box (which alot of you know) and Ive already achieved this by completing the 1-hr cardi & getting back on the V8550 coat which will hopefully be completed soon-ish. Im having fun with it…i promise.
  • I also need to sort out the sewing space to make it a little more organised so I have already {ORDERED} one of those timber thread holders from the hubster to go on the wall – the bigger the better. Cant wait for a little colour injection.
  • For further organisation, I need a regular peg board to store all the general paraphernalia ie. scissors, tapes etc. Perhaps a shelf or two with mason jars to store the smaller notions and supplies like thimbles, snaps, buttons etc. Im probably going to go with this but take it one step further & make it more {MOI} :

petermarigold(dot)com

source : petermarigold.com

  • There are a few sewing projects I would like to get done this year too ie. V1314 (because it looks so good on everyone thats already reviewed it), V1174 (because it just screams SUMMER), V1027 (because it seems like Im the only person that hasnt made it & I have the perfect fabric waiting), Simplicity 2406 and a few Burdas. I wanted to join the many that seem to be taking the “oath” to make 12 in 12 months but I couldnt commit so I will just make what I can & if it turns out to be 12 in 12 months then I’ll be a happy betty.
  • Purchase these Simplicity/New Look patterns & make them. 6100, 6051 (as a cozzie coverup), 1802, 2305, 2512.
  • Try something new ie. bra or knicker making or sew a costume/bikini for the summer.
  • Make a pressing ham & pressing stick. Im mad about pressing & I will be doing a post on pressing sometime in the future.
  • Focus more on discovering new colours that work for me. I wear alot of black and grey because I really dig those colours but sometimes I need something a little more fresh so this year I am going to try to incorporate more navy instead of black, reds instead of pink as well as greens and yellows into my wardrobe. Seeing them together looks like a primary colour wheel 🙂 Since emerald green is the colour of 2013, it seems rude not to give it a shot ‘eh?.

2013 colour combos

Who knows how many of these I will actually achieve especially since I now have this {AWFUL} ankle thing going on! I hope to make a serious dent in the list as a minimum but wouldnt it be cool if I could tick {ALL} of these off the list by 31st December 2013. Challenge on…

What is your 2013 list of things to achieve looking like and how many of them do you think are realistic? Are you also borderline commitment phobic when it comes to sewing? Id love to hear if you have anything specific on your lists this year.

Thanks for stopping by x

7 thoughts on “{NY Resos and other things on my list of things to do in 2013…}

    1. i also tried to find colours that were bright & could be worn together with what I already own. black & grey go with all of these colours I mentioned trying so I look forward to the challenge. thanks for stopping by.

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

