sewing

{Wrap skirt – self drafted}

sari_skirt_lime

I made this wrap skirt some time ago but unpacking boxes {JUST MOVED}, i rediscovered it & realised I should post this for any beginners looking for an easy skirt to start with.

It has to be the simplest skirt I have {EVER} made. no.word.of.a.lie…& I didnt even use a pattern. I simply cut a whack of triangular shaped panels, stitched them together until it wrapped around my hips (I cut 5 panels), cut some strips, sewed them together & then onto the skirt, cut a trim & sewed that on. {FINISHED}. I left the skirt unlined because I wear this on summer days over my cozzie or layered over another skirt. The fabric is not transparent or sheer so I dont have issues with wearing this as soft as possible, without lining.

sari_skirt_full

The fabric I used was part of an Indian Sari. Since a sari can measure anything from 6-9yards, there was {PLENTY} fabric left over for some more creativity later on.

The lime green was cut from the centre of the sari, the shocking pink ties were cut from the top end of the sari which would usually be used to make the accompanying under-blouse and the pink & gold trim at the bottom was cut from the side trim on the sari. very easy, very simple!

sari_skirt_closeup

This is an image of the panels. If anyone would like the dims I used, please feel free to ask. You can of course adjust the quantity of panels, length & fullness according to your requirements.

sari_skirt_panel

All that is left to say is may 2013 hit you with more sewing inspiration than ever before. May you all be blessed & {HAPPY NEW YEAR}

Thanks for stopping by x

3 thoughts on “{Wrap skirt – self drafted}

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

