pattern review · sewing

{New Look 6429 (D)}

Hey all – Im recapping on New Look 6429 today.

Here is the link to my original review http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/52446

This pattern was actually one of my very first New Look patterns – I loved how simple it looked but flattering to all body types/shapes as well.

In my fabric stash I had this piece of gorgeous 2/way stretch that just draped like a dream so I knew instantly this pattern would suit. The fabric is predominantly olive green with some brown & a little cream & many people have commented the pattern almost looks like muscular tendons (which it does)..it makes me love it more. You may notice I did not hem this dress & thats because I like stumbling across fabrics that cut well, dont unravel & therefore can be left with raw edges. Suits me just fine 🙂

Construction was real easy & I especially like the small gathers over the tummy area to hid lumps & bumps. Also, if you look at the image of the back you will notice how the top attaches to the 2 skirt pieces in a V….oooooo, i love this. Its so feminine compared to if they just cut it straight along the back.

I would highly recommend this pattern to any sewer, beginners as well. It will teach fairly simple gathering and facing techniques. Version A & E are so DVF inspired, I may try one of those next.

NewLook 6429-f

NewLook 6429-b

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

