{ BURDASTYLE 04-2010-112 } Frills & thrills…

Mama mia, am I on a sewing extravaganza or what ?!….

This BurdaStyle pattern was featured in the April 2010 magazine as both a top & a dress version. I chose to make the top because I thought the dress might be a little shapless & to be honest, I did not want to line it. After you see my fabric choice, you will see why this ‘milkshake woulda brought all the boys to the yard” { WHAH } :-)BurdaStyle_frills

see what I mean??? totally sheer ….

I used a poly chiffon sari (which I already had in my stash). Bright & cheerful all ready for summer to roll around. I can wear this with my white linen pants or with my denim shorts or a skirt, also over my cozzie…endless opportunities!BurdaStyle_frills_front

Ok, so now for the deets :

{ DESCRIPTION }  Blouse with elasticated off the shoulder frills.

{ FABRIC USED } As mentioned, I used a brightly coloured, printed & embroided poly chiffon adorned with specks of silver glitter (what appear to be white dots in the pics)! I photographed this top with a white tank top underneath to show the colour.

{ SIZING } I cut my usual BS size & it was spot on, although, the front & back really is just a box with armhole cutouts. The elasticated shoulder bits you can make whatever size you want….

{ INSTRUCTIONS } I did not use them, not only were they not in my language (from years of living in foreign countries) but the blouse was super simple to put together using your common sense.

{ CONSTRUCTION / ALTERATIONS  / CHANGES } Im not really a frilly kinda gal so instead of three frills, I only used two. I also used french seams on the frills area & in hindsight should have used french seams to the side seams as well – alas I did not! I used a bias binding to finish off the arm areas which worked a charm.

{ LEVEL OF DIFFICULTY } * easy however since I used a chiffon, it made the hemming of the frills a { NIGHTMARE } , real pain in the ass. Chiffon is difficult to work with at the best of times but then I remembered { SPRAY STARCH }. What a revelation!!! I sprayed the edges lightly & let it set for a few minutes. Miracles do happen, the fabric became so much easier to turn over & stitch. WARNING : dont be over zealous with the starch though because there is such a thing as too hard!! haha.

{ SUM IT UP } A really cute little top. I would recommend it only if you have the patience with those frills though (depending on what fabric you choose of course).BurdaStyle_frills_back

BurdaStyle_frills_1

Thanks for stopping by x

8 thoughts on “{ BURDASTYLE 04-2010-112 } Frills & thrills…

  1. Pingback: { VOGUE 8601 } Riding Jacket | black label

  2. Pingback: { MOJO } Missing… | black label

  3. Pingback: { MMMAY’13 } Week 1 | black label

leave your keyboard shuffle here....

